9 Sep 2008

Just one NZer in cricket awards

6:05 am on 9 September 2008

Just one New Zealander has been nominated for the annual ICC Cricket awards.

Nicola Browne has been included in the 4 finalists for the women's cricketer of the year award.

The Northern Districts all-rounder was named player of the series in the 2007 Rose Bowl series against Australia in Darwin.

New Zealand has also been included in the Spirit of Cricket award.

The West Indies Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Mahela Jayawardena of Sri Lanka, and South Africans Graeme Smith and Dale Steyn have been nominated for cricketer of the year.

The Award time farme is from August to August.

The ceremony is in Dubai next week.