11 Sep 2008

Chanderpaul bags ICC Player of the Year award

10:54 am on 11 September 2008

New Zealand cricketers have failed to make much of an impression at the ICC world cricket awards dinner in Dubai.

The White Ferns Nicola Brown was up for the womens player of the year award, but that was won by Charlotte Edwards of England.

New Zealand was also up for the Spirit of Cricket award which went to Sri Lanka.

Daniel Vettori was named in the one day team of the year.

West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul claimed the top honour, the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Player of the Year, edging out Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene and South African strike bowler Dale Steyn for the top accolade.