10 Oct 2008

No Messam, but Muliaina a boost for Mooloo men

12:35 pm on 10 October 2008

Waikato have a new captain for their provincial rugby quarter-final clash in Napier with Hawkes Bay on Sunday.

Lock Toby Lynn will captain the side with regular skipper Liam Messam not considered due to a hamstring injury. He's replaced by Faifili Levave at number six.

Sosene Anesi moves to the wing as Waikato welcomes back All Black Mils Muliaina at fullback, in a big boost for the Mooloos following Sitiveni Sivivatu's return and match-winning last-minute try last week against Taranaki.

Fellow New Zealand rep Richard Kahui starts at centre with Jackson Willison at second five-eighth while Hastings-born Callum Bruce starts at first five eighth as Stephen Donald was not considered due to a strained rib cartilage.

Kick off is 2.35pm on Sunday.

Waikato: 1. Hikairo Forbes, 2. Ole Avei, 3. Aled de Malmanche, 4. Toby Lynn (captain), 5. Romana Graham, 6. Faifili Levave, 7. Tom Harding, 8. Sione Lauaki, 9. David Bason, 10. Callum Bruce, 11. Sitiveni Sivivatu, 12. Jackson Willison, 13. Richard Kahui, 14. Sosene Anesi, 15. Mils Muliaina

Reserves: 16. Vern Kamo, 17. Toby Smith, 18. Kent Fife, 19. Matt Blain, 20. Malcolm Barnes, 21. Dwayne Sweeney, 22. Tim Mikkelson