12 Oct 2008

Tander and Skaife on Bathurst pole

6:06 am on 12 October 2008

The reigning V8 Supercar champion and championship leader, Holden's Garth Tander, and his five-time Bathurst winning team-mate Mark Skaife will start on pole for today's Bathurst 1,000.

Tander set a time of 2mins:07.2963 seconds in the top 10 shoot-out to hold off his fancied Ford rivals.

Joining them on the front of the grid will be Ford Performance Racing's Mark Winterbottom and Steven Richards, Richards the best of the New Zealanders on the front row.

The other leading New Zealand candidates are Jason Richards and Greg Murphy on the third row with Fabian Coulthard on the fifth row.

Holden's all-New Zealand team will be disappointed with their sixth place on the grid after Richards clocked an incredible 2mins:06.9076 to top the practice charts in the morning session.

The time was the second fastest ever around the mountain, Richards' teammate Murphy setting the lap record of 2mins:06.8594 in 2003.