20 Oct 2008

Man United quartet nominated for European player of year

6:55 pm on 20 October 2008

Manchester United and Chelsea have seven nominees for the European Footballer of the Year award.

United's Champions League and Premier League double has seen Wayne Rooney, Nemanja Vidic, Cristiano Ronaldo and keeper Edwin Van Der Sar make the shortlist.

The Champions League runners-up Chelsea earned nominations for Frank Lampard, Michael Ballack and Didier Drogba.

France Football magazine compiles the shortlist which is based on nominations from football writers around the world.

Other Premier League players on it include Arsenal's Cesc Fabregas, Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres of Liverpool.

The Euro 2008 winner Spain is the best represented country with seven players.