25 Oct 2008

Smith wins historic second John Eales medal

11:41 am on 25 October 2008

The Wallabies flanker George Smith has become the first player to win the John Eales Medal twice.

Smith was the inaugural winner of Australian rugby's best Test player award in 2002 and last night he outpolled fellow loose forward Wycliff Palu and first five Matt Giteau.

Rocky Elsom won the new ''Australia's Choice - Wallaby of the Year'' award, which was decided by a poll among fans.

The late-blooming Queenslander Peter Hynes won the rookie of the year award.