1 Nov 2008

West Indies name cricket squad for New Zealand tour

10:52 am on 1 November 2008

Four newcomers, including Australian-born Brendon Nash, have been named in the West Indies cricket side for the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

Chris Gayle has been retained as captain while Ramnaresh Sarwan will be his deputy on the West Indies roster that will play December Tests in Dunedin and Napier plus two Twenty20 and five one-day matches.

Lionel Barker, Kemar Roach and Leon Johnson were the other new faces on the West Indies squad.

Barker, from Montserrat, and Roach, from Barbados, are fast bowlers while Johnson is a batsman from Guyana.

The West Indies are eighth in the Test rankings, one point below New Zealand.

The Test squad for New Zealand is: Chris Gayle (capt), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lionel Baker, Carlton Baugh, Sulieman Benn, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Fidel Edwards, Leon Johnson, Xavier Marshall, Brendan Nash, Daren Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor.

The West Indies line-ups for the Twenty-20 and one-days in New Zealand to be named later.