22 Nov 2008

Tiejtens names squad for first two legs of world series

1:24 pm on 22 November 2008

DJ Forbes will captain the New Zealand rugby union sevens side again while four players will make their debut for the opening two rounds of the IRB World series, starting in Dubai at the end of this month.

The new players are 21-year-old Paul Grant from Otago, 20-year-old Kurt Baker from Manawatu, 19-year-old Tim Nanai-Williams from Counties Manukau and the youngest member of the team, 18-year-old Julian Savea from Wellington.

Tietjens says he's excited about the new season.

New Zealand are the defending champions after losing just one game during the series last season.

Tiejtens believes they've picked a squad that can respond to this challenge which combines some of the really experienced Sevens players with some new, young players who will join the national team for the first time.

The team is Kurt Baker (Manawatu), Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau, captain), Solomon King (Bay of Plenty), Zar Lawrence (Bay of Plenty), Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Lote Raikabula (Manawatu), Willie Rickards (Southland), Julian Savea (Wellington), Nafi Tuitavake (North Harbour), Paul Grant (Otago), Tim Nanai-Williams (Counties Manukau).