5 Dec 2008

Beijing cycling medallists to square off

1:31 pm on 5 December 2008

New Zealand's Beijing Olympic cycling medallists will square off for the first time since the Games, when they compete in the sixth round of the national road series in Christchurch this weekend.

The men's pursuit team of Hayden Roulston, Peter Latham, Jesse Sergent, Wes Gough, Sam Bewley and Mark Ryan will take part in the 80km Harbour ride tomorrow and in the New Zealand Criterium Champs around streets of Christchurch on Sunday.

The pursuit team won bronze in Beijing while Roulston also won silver in the individual pursuit and it's the first time the squad will have all competed against one another since Beijing.

Latham's seen as the leading contender after winning the previous round in Rotorua.

The two events have drawn the strongest field of the season and also include series leader Jeremy Yates, world Omnium champion Hayden Godfrey, defending national criterium champion McCauley and former Olympian Robin Reid.

Women's series champion Serena Sheridan will look to extend her lead but will come up against Beijing Olympians Alison Shanks and Catherine Cheatley, who won the last round.