15 Dec 2008

Hamilton Boys wins national cricket title

5:39 am on 15 December 2008

Hamilton Boys High School have been crowned National Secondary schools cricket champions after a two wicket win over Westlake Boys High School in the final in Palmerston North.

The win caps off a remarkable tournament for Hamilton who were bowled out for just 61 in their first match before bouncing back with a tournament high score of 301 for 5 on Saturday which helped them reach the final.

Hamilton's win also rounded off a fantastic day for the school in Palmerston North, with their touch team winning the national secondary schools touch competition as well, adding to the joint secondary schools rugby title Hamilton also holds.

The tournament squad is...

Ben Smith (Wanganui Collegiate), Josh Tasman-Jones (Westlake Boys High School), Adam Milne (Palmerston North Boys High School), Nick Evemy (Tauranga Boys College), Matt Thomas (Hamilton Boys High School), Matt Henry (St Bede's College), Harry Wright (Wellington Boys College), Ahbi Ganugapati (Palmerston North Boys High School), Peter Bocock (Hamilton Boys High School), Andrew Ireland (St Bede's College), Craig Cachopa (Westlake Boys High School), Zac Scott (Tauranga Boys College).