26 Dec 2008

The 2008 Halberg Awards get 53 nominations

10:33 am on 26 December 2008

Outstanding performances by New Zealanders on the world and Olympic stage during the year have resulted in 53 nominations for the 2008 Halberg Awards.

There are 19 for Sportsman of the Year, 12 for sportswoman and team of the year, and 10 for coach.

Sportsman nominees include racing driver Scott Dixon, the Kiwis captain Nathan Cayless and Olympic medalists including rower Mahe Drysdale, cyclist Hayden Roulston and runner Nick Willis.

The Olympic shotput champion Valerie Vili, swimmer Melissa Ingram, cylist Sarah Walker and triathlete Samantha Warriner are among the 10 women nominees.

The 12 teams include the Kiwis, the Warriors, the All Blacks, and cycling's Men's Pursuit team.

Among the 10 coaches are Valerie Vili's mentor Kirsten Hellier, the Kiwis' Stephen Kearney, the All Blacks' Graham Henry and rowing's Richard Tonks.

The awards will be presented in Auckland on February 3rd.