27 Dec 2008

New Zealand cycling trio upset Australians

3:42 pm on 27 December 2008

A trio of teenage New Zealand cyclists has edged an elite Australian combination to win the team sprint final of the Tasmanian Festival of Cycling.

At Latrobe the national sprint champion Eddie Dawkins, from Invercargill, and Auckland's Regan Sheath and Sam Webster have joined forces to upset the Australian team that included Oceania sprint champion Shane Perkins and runner-up Scott Sutherland, who finished first and second in the sprint final.

The New Zealand combination clocked 46.45 seconds for the win on the 500m concrete track.

The winning time at the recent Oceania championships indoors in Adelaide was 47.10 seconds.