30 Dec 2008

No place for Vaughan in England squad

10:16 am on 30 December 2008

Former captain Michael Vaughan has missed out on a Test cricket return after England named their squad for the tour of the West Indies.

But uncapped leg-spinner Adil Rashid and seamer Ryan Sidebottom were included.

Vaughan resigned from the England captaincy last August and though he said he was keen to return to the team as a batsmen, he has scored barely any runs since then in the few matches he has played.

The selectors also named a 15-man one-day squad, which includes a return for dynamic Hampshire all-rounder Dimitri Mascarenhas and a first call-up for Worcestershire wicketkeeper Steven Davies.

Kent captain Robert Key will lead a 14-man England Lions squad to New Zealand.

Test squad: Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire, captain), Tim Ambrose (Warwickshire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Alastair Cook (Essex), Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire), Stephen Harmison (Durham), Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire), Matt Prior (Sussex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Owais Shah (Middlesex), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Andrew Strauss (Middlesex), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire).

One-day squad: Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire, captain), James Anderson, (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Steven Davies (Worcestershire), Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire), Stephen Harmison (Durham), Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Matt Prior (Sussex), Owais Shah (Middlesex), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire).