3 Oct 2010

Canterbury take out national netball title

8:40 am on 3 October 2010

Canterbury are the new national netball champions after defeating Auckland Waitakere 53-52 in a tight final at the Trusts Stadium Arena in Auckland.

It's Canterbury's first title since 2002 but they were pushed right to the final whistle by last year's winners.

Southland beat Wellington in a low-scoring playoff for third, 38-36.