8 Oct 2010

Bright fastest in Bathurst qualifier

7:36 pm on 8 October 2010

Holden's Jason Bright has qualified fastest for tomorrow's top ten shootout at Mount Panorama Bathurst, which will decide to decide the starting grid for Sunday's Bathurst 1000.

Greg Murphy was ninth fastest, while fellow New Zealander Shane van Gisbergen who's currently fifth in the V8 Supercar championship was 13th and will miss tomorrow's event to decide pole position.

In practice earlier Holden driver Craig Lowndes bettered the Bathurst lap record set by Murphy seven years ago.