15 Oct 2010

Deans turns to sevens stars for end of year tour

11:48 am on 15 October 2010

Wallabies coach Robbie Deans has named a staggering 15 players who have represented Australia at rugby sevens in his squad for the upcoming end of year tour.

The 36-man party contains seven uncapped players, including halfback Nick Phipps, four of whom were members of Australia's silver medal-winning team at the Delhi Commonwealth Games behind New Zealand.

Phipps is one of the bolters and will take the third halfback spot for the tour, behind Will Genia and Luke Burgess - even though the new Melbourne Rebels No.9 has yet to play Super Rugby.

Fully a third of the Australian squad come from the Queensland Reds, including the veteran lock Van Humphries, who at 34-years-old has the chance to become the oldest Wallaby debutant ever.


Forwards: Ben Alexander, Richard Brown, Mark Chisholm, Ben Daley, Huia Edmonds, Rocky Elsom (captain), Saia Faingaa, Scott Higginbotham, Matt Hodgson, Van Humphries, Salesi Ma'afu, Ben McCalman, Pat McCutcheon, Stephen Moore, Dean Mumm, Benn Robinson, Nathan Sharpe, Rob Simmons, James Slipper.

Backs: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Berrick Barnes, Kurtley Beale, Luke Burgess, Quade Cooper, Rod Davies, Anthony Faingaa, Will Genia, Matt Giteau, Peter Hynes, Pat McCabe, Drew Mitchell, Luke Morahan, James O'Connor, Nick Phipps, David Pocock, Lachie Turner