17 Oct 2010

Sonny Bill makes All Black squad for end of year tour

7:26 pm on 17 October 2010

The Canterbury second five Sonny Bill Williams has fulfilled his dream of becoming an All Black and is the only debutante named in the New Zealand squad for the end of year tour which features a host of recalled former test players.

The squad, which boasts 972 Test caps between them, is made up of 16 forwards and 14 backs and will again be captained by 89-Test All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.

Williams is the only new All Black but hooker Hikawera Elliot and halfback Alby Mathewson, who have appeared for the All Blacks before, are officially picked for the first time in an All Blacks squad.

The squad also features the return of a number of players who have donned the All Blacks jersey in recent years, including Auckland loose forward Daniel Braid, who returned to New Zealand after a stint with the Queensland Reds.

Wellington winger Hosea Gear, Waikato flanker Liam Messam, Waikato first five-eighth Stephen Donald, Canterbury halfback Andy Ellis, and Auckland utility back Isaia Toeava, all return to the All Blacks after absences.

The squad also includes Taranaki hooker Andrew Hore, who hasn't played since dislocating his shoulder in May.

Hore is expected to be fit to return to rugby on the European leg of the tour.

Winger Sitiveni Sivivatu, another experienced player who is due to return to rugby after shoulder surgery, is also back in the All Blacks and set to turn out for his Waikato provincial side over the next two weeks and join the All

Blacks squad following the Test in Hong Kong.

Players not considered for selection due to injury include: Israel Dagg, Corey Flynn, Richard Kahui, Luke McAlister, Piri Weepu and Ali Williams.

The All Blacks first game on tour is against the Wallabies in Hong Kong on October the 30th.


John Afoa Auckland (25)

Anthony Boric North Harbour (16)

Daniel Braid Auckland (4)

Tom Donnelly Otago (13)

Hikawera Elliot Hawke's Bay (0)

Ben Franks Tasman (7)

Owen Franks Canterbury (17)

Andrew Hore Taranaki (47)

Jerome Kaino Auckland (33)

Richie McCaw (capt) Canterbury (89)

Keven Mealamu Auckland (80)

Liam Messam Waikato (5)

Kieran Read Canterbury (25)

Brad Thorn Canterbury (46)

Samuel Whitelock Canterbury (8)

Tony Woodcock North Harbour (69)


Andy Ellis Canterbury (14)

Daniel Carter Canterbury (74)

Jimmy Cowan Southland (41)

Stephen Donald Waikato (19)

Hosea Gear Wellington (2)

Cory Jane Wellington (20)

Alby Mathewson Wellington (1)

Mils Muliaina Waikato (89)

Ma'a Nonu Wellington (52)

Josevata Rokocoko Auckland (66)

Sitiveni Sivivatu Waikato (43)

Conrad Smith Wellington (41)

Isaia Toeava Auckland (26)

Sonny Bill Williams Canterbury *

* new All Black