2 Nov 2010

Steenkamp named SA player of the year

11:27 am on 2 November 2010

The Bulls prop Gurthrö Steenkamp has been named as the South African Rugby Union Player of the Year.

Steenkamp helped his side claim their third Super 14 title.

Also nominated were Gio Aplon, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard and Schalk Burger.

Lions flyhalf Elton Jantjies was named as Young Player of the Year; the Bulls were Team of the Year and Allister Coetzee was chosen as Coach of the Year among the other main awards, which are voted for by rugby journalists.

Western Province wing Gio Aplon was selected by his peers as Players' Player of the Year.