26 Nov 2010

Richie and Mils up for top award

2:03 pm on 26 November 2010

The All Blacks' two record-breaking players have been included in the IRB's short list for rugby player of the year.

Captain Richie McCaw and fullback Mils Muliaina, who broke Sean Fitzpatrick's record for most All Black caps, on theior current Grand Slam tour are among six players named.

McCaw has won the honour twice before, in 2009 and 2006.

The other finalists are Kurtley Beale and David Pocock of Australia, Springbok Victor Matfield and French number eight Imanol Harinordoquy.

This year's winner will be announced next week, along with the coach of the year and team of the year winners.