26 Nov 2010

Tietjens names new-look sevens squad

10:35 am on 26 November 2010

The New Zealand rugby sevens coach Gordon Tietjens has named a new-look team for the first two rounds of the IRB series.

Six debutants have been named in the side including 19-year-old Declan O'Donnell from Waikato.

Also making their New Zealand Sevens debuts are Manawatu's Scott Curry, Auckland's Bryce Heem, Waikato's Frank Halai, Taranaki's Jackson Ormond and North Harbour's Jack McPhee.

The team has a mix of experience with sevens regulars Toby Arnold, Tim Mikkelson, Tomasi Cama, Lote Raikabula, and captain DJ Forbes all named in the side.

Taranaki's Scott Waldrom has been released by the Chiefs for the first two tournaments and makes a welcome return to the side having last played for the New Zealand Sevens team in 2007.

The first leg is in Dubai next weekend followed by South Africa the following weekend.

New Zealand finished second to samoa in last season's competition.