27 Nov 2010

Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge underway

12:59 pm on 27 November 2010

Taupo's annual Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge is underway with just under 10,000 mainly recreational riders turning out, while the elite riders battled for race honours.

In the women's road race, the sprint finish was won by 23-year-old Kate Chilcott just ahead of Sonya Waddell and Wanganui's Cath Cheatley.

The men's Classic was won by Roman Van Uden of Pure Black Racing in a new lap record of three hours 42 mins and 21 seconds, ahead of Justin Kerr and defending champion Patrick Bevin.

In the mountain bike challenge, last year's runner-up Mike Northcott beat Tim Wilding and Mark 'Cabin' Leishman.

Meanwhile, defending women's MTB champion Annika Smail of Rotorua regained her crown ahead of Nic Leary and Katherine O'Neill.