29 Nov 2010

Perfect Waitakere United continue premiership procession

5:58 am on 29 November 2010

A perfect fifteen points from five games and a goal difference of plus eleven - those are the statistics that confirm Waitakere United as runaway leaders in the ASB football Premiership in a weekend where red cards as well as goals were commonplace.

Waitakere United's 2-1 win over a ten-man Canterbury ended the southerners own unbeaten record and allowed Hawke's Bay United to climb into second place after a dramatic 2-all draw with a nine-man Auckland City.

The result means Hawke's Bay edge past Canterbury United and Team Wellington by one point, with Auckland City dropping to sixth.

Fifth placed Waikato FC joined the playoff logjam thanks to a convincing 3-nil win over cellar-dwellers YoungHeart Manawatu who also had two players sent off.

Team Wellington ended the round in fourth thanks to a 3-nil win over seventh placed Otago United.