12 Dec 2010

Wins for Auckland, Central and Northern in Twenty20 cricket

5:54 pm on 12 December 2010

There've been big wins for the defending champions Central Districts and for Northern Districts in the Twenty20 cricket championship while Auckland pipped Canterbury by one run.

Canterbury's unbeaten run ended after they finished on 154 for five in Christchurch where Auckland made 155 for six.

Central kept Otago winless with a seven wicket victory at Invercargill, reaching their target of 176 in the 18th over, thanks in part to a rapid 67 not out from Kieran Noema-Barnett, who hit seven sixes and three fours.

Northern Districts made 201 for six at the Basin Reserve then dismissed Wellington for 147 to win by 54 runs.

Peter McGlashan top-scored for Northern with 66 from 31 balls and the Australian Brad Hodge made 51.

Auckland and Northern have12 points Canterbury and Wellington eight, Central four and Otago none.