26 Dec 2010

World class field for NZ Road Cycling Championships

6:54 am on 26 December 2010

A world class field with more than 100 riders will line up next month in the New Zealand Road Cycling Championships in Christchurch.

The winners of five road titles are included in the men's field, led by defending champion Jack Bauer, the 2006 winner Hayden Roulston and the 2007 and 2008 champion Julian Dean.

They will be joined by other leading professionals, incuding Greg Henderson, Sam Bewley and Jesse Sergent Jeremy Vennell and Tim Gudsell.

The women's field includes defending champion Rushlee Buchanan, Cath Cheatley and the two-time winner and 2003 champion Joanne Kiesanowski.

Promoter Simon Hollander says the national champion's jersey is sought after as it brings kudos to the rider and country, as was seen when Julian Dean wore it in the Tour de France.