7 Jan 2011

Peterhansel wins fifth stage of Dakar motor rally

10:21 am on 7 January 2011

The three time Dakar Rally champion Stephane Peterhansel, driving a BMW, has won the 423-kilometre fifth stage of this year's event, moving into second place overall.

The defending champion Carlos Sainz, in a Volkswagon, retains the overall lead by two minutes and 26 seconds.

Portugal's Paulo Goncalves, riding a BMW, won the motorcycle stage but the overall lead in that category is still held by Spain's Marc Coma on a KTM.