15 Feb 2011

Roar dominate A-league players vote awards

5:57 am on 15 February 2011

The Brisbane Roar have won critical acclaim from the rest of the A-League for their sensational performances this season, dominating the football players' union team of the year.

Seven Roar players were selected in the starting 11, led by Socceroos midfielder Matt McKay.

And Brisbane coach Ange Postecoglou won more than 70 per cent of the vote for coach of the year in an award voted on by A-League players and presented at Professional Footballers' Australia's awards night in Melbourne last night.

The Roar have lost just once in 30 matches this season, won the Premiers' Plate, and have been unbeaten in their past 25 matches - a record for Australian domestic soccer.