26 Feb 2011

Shanks shakes off jetlag to win in Invercargill

12:26 pm on 26 February 2011

Commonwealth games gold medallist Alison Shanks bounced back from a hasty flight home from Europe to claim her fourth individual pursuit title on the opening night of finals at the New Zealand Track cycling championships in Invercargill.

Shanks disposed of her fellow World Cup winning team-mate Jaime Nielsen in the final, while Auckland's Kaytee Boyd edged out Waikato's Rushlee Buchanan for the bronze medal.

With the Manchester World Cup sprinters out of action, Manawatu's Simon Van Velthooven, a keirin specialist, cranked out an impressive 1:02.371 effort to win the 100 metre time trial.

It was a personal best for the big sprinter, second only to national record holder and home town favourite Eddie Dawkins, who was sidelined with injury from his crash in Manchester.

In other finals Southland-based Cantabrian Natasha Hansen won the 250 metre time trial in 20.289 edging out Otago's Katie Scholfield, while Southland's Matt Archibald won the men's final in 18.413, just ahead of Van Velthooven.

The Auckland pairing of Henrietta Mitchell and Vanessa Quin won the team sprint title over local Southland combination of Hansen and Emma Gibb in a slick 36.616.

Northland's Fiona Southorn won the paracycling 500 metre time trial in 43.238 while Otago's Chris Ross, a C5 athlete, was fastest in the men's paracycling 1000 metre time trial in 1.13.911