20 Apr 2011

Silver Ferns world champs squad named

5:58 am on 20 April 2011

Shooters Cathrine Latu and Paula Griffin have been named in the Silver Ferns side for July's world championships in Singapore - the only two additions to the successful side which won gold at last year's Commonwealth Games.

Latu has been included subject to her being cleared to play by the Court of Arbitration for Sport, having previously played for Samoa.

Defender Joline Henry has also been included subject to her recovering from injury.

Missing from the squad that went to India are Daneka Wipi'iti and Grace Rasmussen who suffered a serious knee injury in the Northern Mystics loss to the New South Wales Swifts in Sydney on Monday night.

New Zealand: Casey Williams (captain), Leana de Bruin, Temepara George, Katrina Grant, Paula Griffin, Joline Henry (subject to medical clearance), Laura Langman, Liana Leota, Cathrine Latu, Anna Scarlett, Maria Tutaia, Irene van Dyk.