1 May 2011

Whincup extends V8 title lead with opening win in Perth

6:50 am on 1 May 2011

Jamie Whincup won his third V8 Supercar race from pole to flag in Perth, as the Holden driver threatens to blow open the tightest championship in years.

Whincup beat team-mate Craig Lowndes and Ford's Will Davison in the first of three sprint races at Barbagallo Raceway to extend his championship lead.

Whincup remains the only multiple race winner in 2011, with five different drivers winning the opening seven races.

Critically, Whincup has now won three to boost his championship lead to 110 points over Lowndes, who heads a chasing pack of six drivers within a standard race victory of Whincup.

Shane Van Gisbergen was the best placed New Zealander, last week's winner in Hamilton finishing fourth after starting the race in 16th place on the grid.

Races two and three are scheduled for today with qualifying session in the morning.