6 May 2011

Penney scoops two MVPs at Breakers awards night

7:31 am on 6 May 2011

The New Zealand Breakers have celebrated their breakthrough Australian basketball championship victory at their awards dinner on Auckland's North Shore.

Kirk Penney won two Most Valuable Player awards, the overall MVP and the MVP's MVP as voted by Breakers season ticket holders, while Mika Vukona won the Players' Player award as voted by his team-mates.

Veteran guard CJ Bruton won Clubman of the Year for his overall contribution while also acknowledged on the night were Kirk Penney and Gary Wilkinson, who were both named to the ANBL Championship All First Team, and Kevin Braswell who was named Championship Best Sixth Man.

A parade in honour of the Breakers' achievement in becoming the first New Zealand side to win a senior Australian competition will be held in Auckland this afternoon.