25 May 2011

Finalists for New Zealand football awards announced

12:28 pm on 25 May 2011

Captain Ryan Nelsen and fellow All Whites Winston Reid and Mark Paston have been named as the finalists for New Zealand's footballer of the year award.

The women's category will be contested by Football Ferns internationals Amber Hearn,

Ali Riley and Rebecca Smith.

The All Whites and Phoenix coach Ricki Herbert, Waitakere's Neil Emblen and Football Ferns coach John Herdman contest the coach of the year category.

The winners will be announced at an awards dinner in Auckland on Friday night.