29 Jun 2011

ICC make World Cup U-turn

6:02 am on 29 June 2011

The International Cricket Council has done a U-turn on its decision in April to reduce the number of teams for the 2015 World Cup, and the number of countries taking part in the tournament in Australia and New Zealand will remain at 14.

The ICC has succumbed to pressure from non-test playing nations who had argued that being left out of the tournament would have been detrimental to the development of the sport in their countries.

But the 10-team format will be back when England host the 2019 World Cup.

World Twenty20 events next year and in 2014 will feature 12 teams.