The International Cricket Council says the Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was incorrectly given out during the second Test against the West Indies because the television broadcaster showed the wrong replay to the review umpire.
The ICC said the mix-up was made by the host broadcaster, but it was too late to change the decision.
The incident occurred on the first day in Bridgetown when Dhoni was caught by Shivnarine Chanderpaul at mid-on off the bowling of Fidel Edwards.
The on-field umpire Ian Gould suspected the delivery may have been a no-ball so he sought confirmation from the third umpire, Gregory Brathwaite.
Dhoni was given out after the replay Braithwaite watched showed the bowler delivering a legal ball. However, it later emerged that Braithwaite was shown the wrong delivery and the actual delivery had in fact been a no-ball.