11 Jul 2011

Daniel Braid to captain Auckland

5:40 pm on 11 July 2011

The former All Black flanker Daniel will captain Auckland in the provincial rugby championship,

Mark Anscombe , who also coached the World Championship-winning New Zealand Under 20 side, has included four players from that side: Gareth Anscombe, Francis Sail'i, Steven Luatua and Charles Piutau.

The Blues' former Wellington and Hurricanes halfback Alby Matthewson will debut for Auckland, who host Canterbury on Sunday afternoon.

The rest of the squad is: Gareth Anscombe, Onosai'i Auva'a, Ash Dixon, Auvasa Faeali'i, Charlie Faumuina, Piers Francis, Chris Lowrey, Steven Luatua, Tevita Mailaui, Pauliasi Manu, George Moala Tom McCartney, Toby Morland, Hadleigh Parkes, Charles Piutau, Sean Polwart, Josevata Rokocoko, Peter Saili, Teddy Stanaway, Benson Stanley, Winston Stanley, Angus Ta'avao,Josh Townsend,Brent Ward.