18 Jul 2011

Saints claim back to back titles

6:33 am on 18 July 2011

The Wellington Saints have been crowned the 2011 national basketball champions after outgunning the Hawkes Bay Hawks 106-97 in the grand final in Wellington.

The Saints now have back-to-back championships and coach Pero Cameron racked up his 11th national title, nine as a player and two as a coach.

Lindsay Tait was the best player on the court at TSB Arena and top scored for the champions with 28 points.

Hawke's Bay had stunned Waikato in Friday's semi-final and while plucky, they were feeling the effects of their third game in six days and were unable to match the Saints intensity in front of a vocal home crowd.

They were also overmatched in talent without veteran swingman Paora Winitana, who does not play on Sunday's because of his Mormon faith.