20 Jul 2011

Springboks name three debutants

1:20 pm on 20 July 2011

South Africa's named three debutants in the starting team for the Tri Nations rugby Test against the Wallabies in Sydney on Saturday.

Props Dean Greyling and Werner Kruger and loose forward Ashley Johnson will all earn their first caps while halfback Charl McLeod could join them from the bench.

The Springboks were always expected to name a team featuring young, inexperienced players amid a smattering of established veterans after leaving 21 leading players at home to rest and recuperate from injury before the World Cup.

Coach Peter De Villiers says despite the absence of so many first-choice players he's confident his side's capable of causing the Wallabies' second loss in Sydney in as many weeks after Samoa's upset win on Sunday.

Veteran skipper John Smit returns to lead the team as hooker in his 103rd Test.

The team is: Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson, Juan De Jongh, Wynand Olivier, Lwazi Mvovo, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Ashley Johnson, Danie Roussouw, Deon Stegmann, Johann Muller, Flip van der Merwe, Werner Kruger, John Smit (captain), Dean Greyling.

Reserves: Chiliboy Ralepelle, CJ van der Linde, Alistair Hargreaves, Jean Deysel, Charl McLeod, Adrian Jacobs, Patrick Lambie.