7 Aug 2011

Dixon on Mid Ohio pole

1:04 pm on 7 August 2011

New Zealand driver Scott Dixon has taken pole position for the Mid-Ohio IndyCar race ahead of Australia's Ryan Briscoe.

Dixon, who has finished second four times in a luckless year, won the race in 2007 and 2009.

Last year's race winner and current IndyCar points leader Dario Franchitti was third fastest, Aussie Will Power fourth and Ryan Hunter-Reay fifth.

The qualifying session was marred by a crash that left England's Justin Wilson with a broken vertebra.

Wilson was injured when he spun off the course and hit a bump between turns one and two.