4 Sep 2011

Canterbury equal Auckland record in ITM Cup win over Waikato

8:05 am on 4 September 2011

Canterbury has beaten Waikato 12-3 to claim a fourth straight national provincial rugby title, in a try-less Premiership final in Hamilton.

Replacement Tom Taylor - son of 1987 World Cup winner Warwick Taylor - came on for the injured Tyler Bleyendaahl and kicked all of Canterbury's points while the departing Stephen Donald kicked the lone penalty for Waikato.

Canterbury are now equal with Auckland with the four consecutive NPC triumphs. Auckland did the same twice, between 1987 and 1990, and between 1992 to 1995.

Manawatu host Hawke's Bay today in the Championship final.