18 Sep 2011

Griffin wins first ever South Pacific Open

10:02 am on 18 September 2011

The Australian golfer Matt Griffin has won the inaugural South Pacific Open Championship on the second playoff hole against fellow Victorian Terry Pilkadaris in New Caledonia.

Both had finished the regualtion four rounds at 15 under.

Griffin overcame passport issues to arrive in Noumea less than 24 hours before his round-one tee-time but managed three rounds in the 60s following his opening round of two-under par 70 at Tina Golf Club - one of only three 18-hole courses in New Caledonia.

Leading the chase group was former Victorian Open winner Jason Norris, who finished his round with four-straight birdies to post the clubhouse lead at 14-under par.

Joining Norris in the top five were fourth placed New Zealand's Brad Shilton,the third round leader, and Australian tour rookie Jason Scrivener who both posted final rounds of two-under par 70.

The South Pacific Open is sanctioned by the PGA Tour of Australasia with the champion guaranteed spot in the summer's biggest events including the Australian Open, Masters, PGA Championship and New Zealand Open.