20 Sep 2011

Springbok team to play Namibia named

11:07 am on 20 September 2011

The Springboks have made five changes to the starting line-up from the team that crushed Fiji for their Rugby World Cup match against Southern African neighbours Namibia in Albany on Thursday night.

Wing Gio Aplon, halfback Francois Hougaard, blindside Willem Alberts and tighthead prop CJ van der Linde were all given their first starts of the tournament while winger Bryan Habana was recalled from injury to resume his place in the number 11 jersey.

Lock Bakkies Botha gets his second start of the Cup after recovering from an achilles injury while four players, locks Victor Matfield and Johann Muller, centre Jean de Villiers and first five Butch James were unavailable due to injury.

Halfback Fourie du Preez and flanker Heinrich Brüssow both drop to the bench while wings JP Pietersen and Odwa Ndungane and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis are being rested all together.

In one other change, reserve hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle was included in a match 22 for the first time in place of Bismarck du Plessis, who is also being rested.