16 Oct 2011

New Zealand go down to old foes in Four Nations Cup

5:23 pm on 16 October 2011

The New Zealand golf team staged an impressive fight back but it wasn't enough as Australia won the inaugural Four Nations Cup by 11 shots at The Hills course near Arrowtown.

Australia, who held a 14 shot lead heading into the final round courtesy of superb rounds from Brett Drewitt (65) and Todd Sinnott (66), proved too hard for the New Zealanders to catch.

New Zealand number one Ryan Fox led the charge with a five under par 67 that was aptly backed up by Ben Campbell (69) and Mathew Perry (70).

The three combined for an impressive total of 10 under par.

Argentina performed well in the final round with an even par total to overtake South Africa (+5) into third place by four shots.

The Four Nations Cup is an amalgamation of two tournaments the Four Nations (between New Zealand, Australia, Japan and Canada) and the Southern Cross Cup (between New Zealand, Australia, South Africa and Argentina) becoming one Stroke Play event.

The four international teams (New Zealand, Australia, South Africa and Argentina) are made up of four male players with the best three scores counting each day.

One round of golf was played each day for four days.