21 Oct 2011

Hansen says nominations a testament to ABs

3:11 pm on 21 October 2011

The All Blacks assistant coach Steve Hansen says it's testament to the whole squad that three new players have been nominated for the IRB player of the year.

Halfback Piri Weepu, loose forward Jerome Kaino, and centre Ma'a Nonu are joined by two Wallabies David Pocock and Will Genia, and Thierry Dusautoir, the French flanker who'll lead his side against the All Blacks in Sunday night's World Cup final.

Richie McCaw has won it three times, while Dan Carter is the only other New Zealand winner.

Hansen says it's obvious a lot of it is being judged on this tournament and so it shows the whole team is playing well.

Meanwhile Hansen says loose forward Adam Thomson had a fitness test on Thursday on an ankle injury, but he's confident he'll be available for selection.