25 Oct 2011

ICC release Twenty/20 rankings

1:43 pm on 25 October 2011

England's Eoin Morgan, Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka and Shane Watson of Australia have been named as the number-one ranked batsman, bowler and all-rounder, in the ICC Twenty/20 player rankings released today.

In 18 T20's, Morgan has scored 569 runs at an average of 47.41 and only Matthew Hayden (308 runs at 51.33) and Andrew Symonds (337 runs at 48.14) have better averages than the left-hander.

While Morgan is the only batsman to boast a rating of over 800 points on the day of the launch, New Zealand's Brendon McCullum and Kevin Pietersen of England are both within striking range.

Ajantha Mendis, who won the ICC Emerging Player of the Year award in 2008, leads the field in the bowlers' category.

The 26-year-old is the fourth leading wicket-taker behind Pakistan trio - Shahid Afridi (53), Umar Gul (47) and Saeed Ajmal (45) - with 39 wickets in 20 matches.

Shane Watson leads the all-rounders' category that also includes three Pakistanis in second-ranked Afridi, fourth-ranked Mohammad Hafeez and 10th-ranked Abdul Razzaq inside the top 10.

David Hussey is in third position as the top 10 also includes two South Africans in Jacques Kallis and Albie Morkel.