31 Oct 2011

Vettel wins inaugural Indian Grand Prix

8:23 am on 31 October 2011

Red Bull's unstoppable double world champion Sebastian Vettel ran away with the inaugural Indian Formula One Grand Prix last night, his 11th victory in 17 races this season.

The 24 year old German led very lap of the race after starting from pole position, clocking the fastest lap at the very end as he finished eight seconds ahead of his Jenson Button, with another 15 seconds back to Fernando Alonso, and Mark Webber took fourth place.

McLaren's 2008 champion Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari's Felipe Massa collided for the sixth time this season, but for a change it was the Brazilian who has handed a drive through penalty before he retired with a broken front suspension.

Before the race, teams and drivers observed a minute's silence in memory of the Indy car champion Dan Wheldon and MotoGP star Marco Simoncelli who lost thier lives the previous two weekends.