13 Nov 2011

Bolt and Pearson named athletes of the year

11:14 am on 13 November 2011

The Jamaican Usain Bolt and Australian Sally Pearson have been named athletes of the year by athletics governing body the IAAF.

Bolt, who wins the title for the third time, bounced back from being disqualified for false starting in the world 100 metres final to retain his 200 metres title, before anchoring Jamaica to win the 100 metres team relay in a world record time.

Pearson enjoyed a phenomenal season, winning 15 of 16 races and taking the world 100 metres hurdles title.

New Zealand's Olympic and world champion shot putter Valerie Adams was a finalist in the women's field.