25 Nov 2011

13-strong squad for Colombia cycle World Cup

12:09 pm on 25 November 2011

BikeNZ has selected a 13-strong squad for next week's UCI World Cup track cycling meeting in Colombia.

It is led by the record-setting riders who performed impressively at the Oceania Championships that finished in Invercargill last night.

The squad comprises the men's and women's team pursuit, men's and women's omnium and a men's sprint group.

The women's pursuit team is the same combination that went within 0.2s of the world record this week, comprising Alison Shanks, Lauren Ellis and Jaime Nielsen.

The men's pursuit quartet that set the fastest time in the world this year to date is Jesse Sergent, Sam Bewley, Aaron Gate and Marc Ryan.

World omnium silver medallist Shane Archbold has been selected, along with Joanne Kiesanowski, who is expected to travel despite withdrawing from the second day of the omnium yesterday on a precautionary basis after feeling unwell.

There are four sprinters heading to Cali, Sam Webster, Simon Van Velthooven, Ethan Mitchell and Eddie Dawkins.