2 Dec 2011

Jerome Kaino named Rugby Player of the Year

6:02 am on 2 December 2011

The All Black loose forward Jerome Kaino has been named the winner of the Kel Tremain Memorial Player of the Year at the New Zealand Rugby Awards dinner.

Kaino pipped two of his All Blacks team mates -- captain Richie McCaw and second five-eighth Ma'a Nonu - to win the award.

The Super Rugby Player of the Year award went to Crusaders and All Blacks loosehead prop Wyatt Crockett.

The World Champion All Blacks were named the Team of the Year and Graham Henry was named Coach of the Year.

Aaron Cruden won ITM Cup Player of the Year, Auckland and Black Ferns forward Fiao'o Fa'amausili took out the Women's Player of the Year award, the Bay of Plenty flanker Sam Cane won Age Group Player of the Year, Tim Mikkelson was named Sevens Player of the Year and Piri Weepu Maori Player of the Year.

The special presentation for outstanding contribution to New Zealand rugby, was presented to former All Blacks captain and recent NZRU Chairman Jock Hobbs.