10 Dec 2011

Dwyer player of the year again

6:07 pm on 10 December 2011

Star Australia striker Jamie Dwyer has won the men's international hockey player of the year award for a record-extending fifth time.

The 32-year-old Queenslander beat off team-mate Eddie Ockenden, three-time winner Teun de Nooijer of the Netherlands, and Germans Moritz Furste and Max Muller.

Another Kookaburra, Queensland defender Matthew Swann, completed the double for Australia by taking out the young player of the year award.

The winners were announced on Saturday at the Champions Trophy in Auckland, where Dwyer has been in top form.

He is the tournament's leading scorer, with seven goals in Australia's first four matches to help the defending champions into Sunday's final with a game to spare.