19 Dec 2011

Planet Rugby's team of the year

6:25 am on 19 December 2011

The rugby website Planet Rugby has named its team of the year and it includes 7 players from the World Cup winning All Black side.

After a poll of its readers, Israel Dagg, Conrad Smith, Ma'a Nonu, Dan Carter, Jerome Kaino, Brad Thorn and Owen Franks made the starting 15.

Australian David Pocock gets the number 7 jersey ahead of Richie McCaw.

Planet Rugby's readers team of the year is Israel Dagg, George North, Conrad Smith, Ma'a Nonu, Digby Ioane, Dan Carter, Will Genia, Imanol Harinordoquy, David Pocock, Jerome Kaino, Victor Matfield, Brad Thorn, Owen Franks, Bismarck du Plessis, and Cian Healy.