31 Dec 2011

Halberg Awards finalists announced

5:41 pm on 31 December 2011

Two members of the World Cup winning All Black team are up for sportsman of the year in the list of finalist released for the Halberg Sports Awards.

Captain Richie McCaw and fellow flanker Jerome Kaino are up for the individual honour along with world champion rower Mahe Drysdale and equestrian Mark Todd, who won Badminton for a 4th time.

The All Blacks are finalists for team of the year, along with 3 world champion rowing crews.... the men's double of Nathan Cohen and Joseph Sullivan, the men's pair of Eric Murray and Hamish Bond and the women's pair of Juliette Haig and Rebecca Scown.

The sportswoman finalists are world champion shot putter Valerie Adams, world champion kayaker Lisa Carrington, world champion of champions lawn bowler Jo Edwards and triathlete Andrea Hewitt, who won a gold in the World Championship finale.

Retired All Black coach Graham Henry, sevens coach Gordon Tietjens, rowing coach Richard Tonks and cycling coach Dayle Cheatley are up for coach of the year.

The finalists for the Disabled Sportsperson of the Year category, are shooter Michael Johnson, swimmers Sophie Pascoe and Daniel Sharp and cyclist Jayne Parsons.

The winners will be announced in February.